Licking Bowls

Tomorrow is my turn to throw a birthday party at work.  We’re celebrating Nancy’s bday, and Nancy loves one thing – well, two things: peanut butter and chocolate.

When I saw Rachel’s post a couple weeks back, I knew that these cupcakes were perfect.  (The original recipe is from Sweet Tooth Sweet Life.)  I bought the devil’s food cake mix, but I wanted to make my batter from scratch.  After a ton of internet searching, I made a game-time decision to make vegan batter.  Bold choice, I know.  Why?  I wanted the challenge?

The recipe, courtesy of Oh She Glows:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1.5 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt, to taste

The batter was delicious!  I licked that bowl clean.  No eggs, no worry!

Directions called for sifting the dry ingredients into the wet.  No sifter?  In comes the new grater (which I forgot to list with my Target purchases!)

Never a dull moment.

While the cupcakes baked, I unwrapped the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups,

so that when the cupcakes cooled a bit…

…two could become one.

While the cupcakes cooled 100%, I blended the frosting.

The recipe from Sweet Tooth Sweet Life is halved here for 12 cupcakes:

  • 1/6 cup smooth natural peanut butter
  • 1.5 cups powdered sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/8 cup (almond) milk

I made my own peanut butter last night:

I had trouble with this frosting.  The pictures on Rachel’s blog and the original recipe blog show a thick, gorgeous frosting.  It may have been the almond milk and the lack of fat, but mine was a little to thin.  I realized this after filling my makeshift pastry bag and trying to frost the first cupcake:

Minor panic!  Major minor panic.  I squeezed the frosting back into a mixing bowl, added more confectioner’s sugar (which I tried to skimp on at first) and tried again.  Maybe I should have skipped the pastry bag – screw being fancy! – and just spatula-ed it on.  I don’t know.

They’re doing better now, but the frosting, as you can see, is still a little gooey.  I’m afraid that they’re going to just melt overnight!  I’m driving into work tomorrow for sure, and I’ll add the PB cups on top before the party.  I’ll let you know how it goes!  Wish me luck…

(I added the PB cups before leaving this morning.  Here’s the final product):

Fingers are still crossed.  I’m glad it’s not crazy humid today!

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert

2 responses to “Licking Bowls

  1. debra

    Yummm. Looks like a success.

  2. Pingback: Meal to Meal

Chime In

